The GPA of your life

Back in the early ‘90s I was preparing for graduate school by filling out applications. One section of the form caught me by surprise when I filled it out. They wanted my GPAs. You’d think that you only had one GPA, but his form wanted to dig deeper into your academic history. If I remember correctly, they requested Overall GPA, GPA in your major, GPA of the last year/semester, and maybe some other GPA based on some other conglomeration of classes. I was originally shocked by the results.  3.2, 3.2, 3.2, 3.2! Really?

I started to think about it. You know that’s not bad. 3.2 is a solid B. Not a C, I was not the average type. It was B. You know not great but pretty good. It made me think back to high school. I never really cared about my GPA back then. I do however remember thinking to myself; I am going to work hard in every class to get an A. If I recall, that happened. I was not a straight A student by any means, but I would try to get an A at least once in every class just to kind of prove that if I really wanted the A, I could do it.

This makes me wonder about myself. Why not an A? Why am I not cream of the crop material? I think a lot has to do with lack of focus. Not necessarily bad lack of focus but there is a lack. Think about it. How many 4.0 types do you know. I know a few but there total focus is not always healthy. Take a look at Lance Armstrong. Now that guy is focused. He is the embodiment of 4.0. You don’t win all those races if you are not 4.0 material.

While wishing I could be 4.0, I realized that that is not something I can do. You see to be 4.0 and focused, means there are things you have to let slide. I read about his training and races and think, there is no way I could do that. No just because of the hard work, but at the time, he still has a wife and kids. How can you work a family while training all the time, not to mention travel and the other racing obligations? I also saw later, when is marriage fell apart and noted, I guess so. He had nothing left after the bike to give.

So Why am I 3.2. I like to think that I am a Jack-of-all-trades. There are a lot of things that I do, and do them well. But usually when I start to do good at something, the other shinny objects in my life, get my attention. I don’t know how to be 4.0. The to-do list is too long. Cycle, run, excises, teach, play with the family, even write this blog. I want to taste everything. I cannot be 4.0 because the effort would be too much. I would have to push so many other things off my plate. I just can’t do that.

What is your GPA and why. Like I’ve said, mine is based on the internal desire to do everything at lease till I become skilled to the above average level. Maybe your GPA is based on you character, intelligence, or history. Maybe you are more sporadic. I‘d like to know. Heck, maybe you are so good that you can pull off multiple things at the 4.0 level, but I doubt it.

What do you do if you are totally focused and have a low GPA, I am sure that there are people who are better and worse than me. I try hard to improve, but I think that I fall back to the 3.2 in most cases. I try to raise the grade every once in a while, but when I do, something suffers. That’s right; if you see me doing some 3.8 stuff, enjoy it because somewhere in my life, there is a task suffering at 2.6. That is just the way I am.

About brainstormrodeo

Engineer, Craftsman, Thinker
This entry was posted in Metacognition and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

